Hancock Prospecting and Georgina Hope Foundation Destination Gold Camp Dinner

Rowing Australia today announced the winners of the prestigious 2015 Rower of the Year Awards. Announced at a glittering function over the weekend as part of the culmination of the Hancock Prospecting and Georgina Hope Foundation Destination Gold Camp, the Rower of the Year Awards celebrate Australia’s top rowers, coaches and volunteers.

The night not only saw the celebration of Australia’s top rowers but also saw the Australian Rowing Team thank Mrs, Gina Rinehart of the Hancock Prospecting Group and the Georgina Hope Foundation for her support of the team in the lead up to the 2016 international season. At the function, the team presented Mrs. Rinehart with a signed zoot suit and also announced that the Women’s Quadruple Scull at the Reinhold Batschi National Training Centre would be named the ‘Georgina Hope Hancock Rinehart’ in honour of Mrs Rinehart.

2015 World Rowing Champions, Kim Brennan and Erik Horrie were named the Female and Male Rowers of the Year respectively on Saturday 7 May. Meanwhile, Brennan’s coach, Lyall McCarthy, was been named 2015 Coach of the Year. Dr Stephen Hinchy was named the 2015 Volunteer of the Year and Australian Rowing Team member, Kerry Hore, was named the 2015 Rower’s Rower of the Year.

In Mrs. Rinehart’s speech, she congratulated all the outstanding speakers and rowers, and extended warmest and best wishes from her company, foundation and herself for the rowing team when it heads to Rio.