Congratulations to our rowers – Rowing Australia Gala Awards Dinner


Rowing Australia held their annual awards gala dinner tonight, November 3rd, in Sydney. The night was a celebration to honour our rowers and celebrate their successes over the year and all who supported them – coaches, families, and medical professionals  – with a total of thirteen awards presented during the evening.

Rowing Australia Patron and executive Chairman of the Hancock Prospecting Group, Gina Rinehart said, “It is a wonderful evening celebrating the outstanding athletes of the Australian Rowing Team, and the Australian rowing community. Our dedicated rowers are superb role models for our young people, and older Australians too. Thank you for your contribution to our nation. A heartfelt congratulations to all of this evening’s winners, it was fantastic to be a part of such a celebration of rowing and to be able to present so many noteworthy awards.”

The Hancock Prospecting 2018 Rower of the Year Awards also saw a special presentation to Olympic gold medallist Kim Brennan and Olympic silver medallists Cameron McKenzie-McHarg, Matthew Ryan, Francis Hegarty, James Marburg and James Chapman for their contribution to the sport, and the Gina Rinehart Rowing Leadership Award went to Joshua Booth.

Warmest congratulations to all award winners.

Mrs. Rinehart’s speech and photos from the event follows.

Gina Rinehart’s speech to the Hancock Prospecting 2018 Rower of the Year Awards