Local pair to defend FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour event arrives in Australia

By 09/03/2019News, Olympic Teams

With warmest congratulations and very best wishes to the Australian teams from Gina Rinehart.

The FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour in Sydney will take place on Manly Beach

Article by Mike Rowbottom, Inside the games, March 5th.

Australia’s Taliqua Clancy and Mariafe Artacho will defend their women’s title on home sand this week as the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) Beach Volleyball World Tour returns to Manly Beach in Australia after a fortnight of play on the Asian continent.

A men’s one star event, meanwhile, is begin in Kg Speu, Cambodia on Thursday (March 7).

The FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour returns for the third-straight season to Manly Beach for what will be the 12th men’s and women’s event on the 2018-2019 international calendar.

Canada’s Grant O’Gorman and Ben Saxton topped the men’s podium in Manly in this three star tournament last season.

Following tomorrow’s qualifier, the $150,000 (£115,000/€132,000) tournament is scheduled to continue Thursday with pool play leading to the weekend’s elimination matches that set the field for the medal matches on Sunday (March 10) where the winning teams will share the $10,000 (£7,500/€8,800) first-place prizes.

VolleyFest 2019 started last weekend on Manly where Clancy and Artacho and compatriots Chris McHugh and Zachery Schubert captured the titles Sunday (March 3) by defeating teams from Japan and France, respectively, to win the gold medals at the Australian Championships.

While the Australians were finishing their domestic season on Sunday, German and Czech Republic pairs were crowned men’s and women’s winners, respectively, later in the day as India hosted its first-ever FIVB World Tour event in Visakhapatnam.

Armin Dollinger and Simon Kulzer of Germany defeated Ya-Jen Hsieh and Chin-Ju Wang of Chinese Taipei for the men’s Vizag Open India gold medal after Martina Bonnerová and Martina Maixnerova of the Czech Republic had captured the women’s title by defeating Yurika Sakaguchi and Chiyo Suzuki of Japan.